Chris Kallmyer, «FERMENT, a cheese tasting with musical accompaniment».

Thursday, May 21, 2015, at 07 PM, free admission, performance in english.

Participant(s)

Listen to the conference on France Culture plus : with Chris Kallmyer.

Cheese Theories

The cycle meetings titled “Cheese Theories” proposes taking a look at cheese from different theoretical angles. Production processes, conservation methods, technical limitations of an unstable product, study of the influence of forms on the perception of taste, analysis of the bacteriological environment in production methods, and etymology and place names of products. Historians, artists, scientists, writers and researchers will all come and introduce their works and research to do with cheese and its many different forms as part of this first cycle of meetings, brainchild of Nicolas Boulard.

Chris Kallmyer, "FERMENT, a cheese tasting with musical accompaniment".

Chris Kallmyer is an artist who works in sound installation, composition, performance, and electronic music. His work deals with how sound can explore and articulate the dynamic between the natural and the built environment. Working with everyday things like cheese, lawnmowers, sheep or car horns in site-specific contexts, he aims to make pieces that explore the processes, customs, and environments through which humans have altered landscape and place.

FERMENT is a concert that explores milk’s leap into cheesehood. You will experience three sensory pairings between sound and cheese including field recordings of the cheese making process, oral history from dairy farmers, and perceptual experiments with sense and memory.  The project has been presented in spaces from museums to small homes and this is the first time presented in Paris with recordings of California cows.



  

Photo Gallery - Slideshow

Cheese Theories

Practical information

    • Tuesday to Saturday.
    • Closing : Monday and public holidays.
  • Free admission, from 11 am to 7 pm

    Guided tours:

    • Wednesday at 12:30 pm
    • Saturday 12:30 pm and 4:00 pm
  • 12 rue Boissy d'Anglas, 75008 PARIS. First floor.

    • 01 53 30 88 00
    • info@fondation-entreprise-ricard.com
  • Subway : Concorde or Madeleine

  • Park : Concorde or Madeleine

Chris Kallmyer, «Le ferment, dégustation de fromages en musique».

Jeudi 21 mai 2015, à 19h, entrée libre, performance en anglais

Intervenant(s): 

Écoutez la conférence sur France Culture plus : avec Chris Kallmyer.

Cheese Théories

Le cycle de rencontres intitulé “Cheese Théories” propose d’étudier le fromage sous différents points de vue théoriques. Procédés de fabrication, méthode de conservation, contraintes techniques d’un produit instable, étude de l’influence des formes sur la perception du goût, analyse de l’environnement bactériologique dans les procédés de fabrication, étymologie et toponymie des productions. Des historiens, artistes, scientifiques, écrivains, chercheurs viendront présenter leurs travaux et leurs recherches en lien avec le fromage et ses formes multiples dans le cadre de ce premier cycle de rencontres initié par Nicolas Boulard. 


Chris Kallmyer, "Le ferment, dégustation de fromages en musique".

Chris Kallmyer est un artiste qui a pour domaine l’installation sonore, la composition, la performance et la musique électronique. Son œuvre interroge la manière dont le son permet d’explorer et d’articuler le rapport dynamique entre le naturel et le construit dans notre environnement. Utilisant des produits courants tels le fromage, les tondeuses à gazon, les moutons ou les cornes d’avertissement, qu’il installe dans des contextes spécifiques, il s’efforce de produire des pièces explicitant les processus, les habitudes et les contextes ayant présidé à l’altération des paysages et des lieux fréquentés par les humains.

FERMENT est un concert qui explore le saut du lait dans le moule. Vous expérimenterez trois unions sensorielles entre son et fromage incluant des enregistrements du processus de fabrication du fromage, des histoires fondées sur des récits de producteurs laitier, et des expériences perceptrices avec le sens et la mémoire. Le projet a déjà été présenté dans des musées et des petites maisons. Il sera présenté pour la première fois à Paris avec des enregistrements de vaches californiennes.




  

Galerie photo de la conférence - Diaporama

Cheese Theories

Informations pratiques

    • Du mardi au samedi.
    • Fermeture : lundi et jours fériés.
  • Entrée gratuite, de 11h à 19h

    Visites commentées :

    • Mercredi à 12h30
    • Samedi 12h30 et 16h00
  • 12 rue Boissy d'Anglas, 75008 PARIS. 1er étage.

    • 01 53 30 88 00
    • info@fondation-entreprise-ricard.com
  • Métro : Concorde ou Madeleine

  • Parking : Concorde ou Madeleine