Claire Le Restif

Claire Le Restif

Biography
Claire Le Restif

Claire Le Restif is an art historian.

Since 2003, she has been directing the contemporary art centre Le Crédac, which she moved to La Manufacture des Œillets in 2011.

She set up the Royal Garden curatorial project on Le Crédac’s website in 2008, and in 2016 created Crédakino, a dedicated space for posting video works.

She edited the book entitled INDEX 1987-2017, which looks back at the 30-year history of Le Crédac’s exhibitions. Graphic design by Mathias Schweizer and Thibaut Robin. Published by Dilecta, Paris (672 pages).

She is an associate professor at Paris-Sorbonne University in the curatorial master’s programme “Contemporary Art and its Exhibition”.

Her conception of the work of a curator takes the exhibition context into account, and she wishes to combine a policy of excellence in terms of artistic choice with an effort to get close to the public.

She holds a master’s degree in art history / art professions from the University of Rennes, as well as a diploma from the ESIAG (Ecole Supérieure Internationale d’Art et Gestion) in Paris.

She was an independent curator from 2001 in 2003.

Prior to that, she worked as an assistant to the artistic director of La Ferme du Buisson contemporary art centre in Marne-la-Vallée (1994-2000).

She has organised exhibitions in France and abroad, including at Smack Mellon in Brooklyn, the Kunsthalle Palazzo in Liestal (Basel), the Kunsthaus Baselland (Basel), the Academia de Bellas Artes in Madrid, the “Attitudes” art centre in Geneva, Akbank Sanat in Istanbul, the Kunstverein Nürnberg and the Contemporary Art Gallery in Vancouver.

In addition to her work as a curator and as director of the Crédac, Claire Le Restif’s expertise is solicited for juries. She was a member of the “Art dans la ville” committee in Paris from 2004 to 2008, and a member of the “Jeune création” jury from 2005 to 2015. She was curator for the Altadis prize in Madrid and Paris in 2006, for the “Salon de Montrouge” in 2009 and 2017, and for the Percent for Art public commission in Val-de-Marne since 2007. She was a member of the purchasing committee of the FRAC Bourgogne and the FRAC des Pays de la Loire. She is a member of the purchasing committee for the municipal collection of the City of Paris. She is a member of the IKT International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art. She is a member of the committee of experts for the Fondation Nationale des Arts Graphiques et Plastiques.

She was president of d.c.a (association for the development of art centres in France) from 2009 to 2012, then vice-president from 2012 to 2014. She fully participated in implementing d.c.a’s two exchange projects with art centre networks abroad: the “Thermostat” project with German Kunstverein in 2010, then the PIANO project with Italian art centres in 2014. She contributed to drafting the first ministerial circular on art centres in 2011.

She lent her support to many French artists very early in their careers:  Mathieu Mercier, Didier Marcel, Michel Blazy, Laurent Grasso, Véronique Joumard, Vincent Beaurin, Delphine Coindet, Guillaume Leblon, Gyan Panchal, Vincent Lamouroux, Karina Bisch, Dove Allouche, Stéphane Calais, Laurent Montaron, Katinka Bock, Gyan Panchal and others.

But she has also supported foreign artists like Bojan Sarcevic, Leonor Antunes, Pierre Vadi, Didier Rittener, Ulla von Brandenburg, Peter Coffin, Geert Goiris, Ayse Erkmen, Lara Almarcegui, Mircea Cantor, Nina Canell, Liz Magor, Ana Jotta and Mircea Cantor.

 She is very often asked to write texts, the most recent being on Renée Lévi (published by Galerie Bernard Jordan, 2019), Koenraad Dedobbeleer (WIELS contemporary art centre, Brussels, 2018), Boris Achour (Dent-de-Leone, 2018); Alexandra Bircken (l’Officiel Art, Paris, 2017 and Initiales, ENSBA, Lyon, 2018), Bruno Peinado (Éditions Dilecta, Paris, 2017), Dorothy Ianone ( Pleased to meet you fanzine, 2017), Jean-Luc Moulène (Pinault Collection magazine no. 5, 2015) and Friedrich Kunath (Modern Art Oxford and Walther König, 2014).

Claire Le Restif

Claire Le Restif

Biographie
Claire Le Restif

Claire Le Restif est historienne de l’art.

Depuis 2003, elle dirige le Centre d’art contemporain d’Ivry-le Crédac, qu’elle a installé à la Manufacture des Œillets en 2011.

Elle a mis en place Royal Garden, projet curatorial en ligne sur le site du Crédac en 2008 et le Crédakino, espace dédié à la diffusion d’œuvres vidéo en 2016.

Elle a édité INDEX, 1987-2017, un livre retraçant 30 ans d’histoire des expositions du Crédac, graphisme Mathias Schweizer et Thibaut Robin aux éditions Dilecta, Paris (672 pages).

Elle est professeure associée à Université Paris 4 Sorbonne, pour le projet curatorial « Art contemporain et son exposition ».

Elle conçoit le travail de commissaire d'exposition en prenant en compte le contexte dans lequel elle s’inscrit et a la volonté d’associer une politique d'excellence en termes de choix artistique à une recherche de proximité avec le public.

Diplômée d'une Maîtrise d'histoire de l'art / Métiers de l'exposition de l'université de Rennes, d’un diplôme de L’ESIAG (Ecole Supérieure Internationale d’Art et Gestion) à Paris.

Elle a été commissaire d'exposition indépendante de 2001 à 2003.

Elle occupait précédemment, les fonctions d’assistante à la direction artistique du centre d’art contemporain La Ferme du Buisson à Marne-la-Vallée (1994-2000).

Elle a organisé des expositions en France mais aussi à l’étranger notamment au Smack Mellon Center à Brooklyn, à la Kunsthalle Palazzo, Liestal (Bâle), au Kunsthaus Baseland (Bâle) à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Madrid, au Centre d’art “Attitudes” à Genève, à Akbank Sanat à Istanbul, au Kunstverein de Nürnberg et à la Contemporary Art Gallery de Vancouver.

En plus de ses fonctions de commissariat et de direction du Crédac, Claire Le Restif est sollicitée comme expert lors de jury, ainsi elle a été membre du Comité « Art dans la ville » à Paris de 2004 à 2008, membre du jury« Jeune création » 2005 et 2015, commissaire pour le prix Altadis à Madrid et Paris en 2006, “Salon de Montrouge” en 2009 et 2017, commande publique au titre du 1% dans le Val-de-Marne depuis 2007. Elle a été membre du comité d’achat du FRAC de Bourgogne et du FRAC des Pays de la Loire. Elle est membre du comité d’achat du Fonds Municipal de la Ville de Paris. Elle est membre d’IKT, association des commissaires et critiques d’art internationaux. Elle a été membre du comité d’experts de La Fondation Nationale des Arts Graphiques et Plastiques.

Elle a été présidente de d.c.a (association pour le développement des centres d’art contemporains en France) de 2009-2012, puis Vice-Présidente (2012-2014), où elle a pleinement participé à la mise en place de deux projets d’échanges avec les réseaux des centres d’art étrangers, d’une part le projet « Thermostat » avec les Kunstverein allemandes en 2010 puis avec le projet PIANO avec les centres d’art italiens en 2014.Elle a contribué à la signature de la première circulaire ministérielle concernant les centres d’art en 2011.

Elle conçoit le travail de commissaire d'exposition en prenant en compte le contexte dans lequel elle s’inscrit et a la volonté d’associer une politique d'excellence en termes de choix artistique à une recherche de proximité avec le public.

Elle a soutenu très tôt le travail d’artistes français comme Mathieu Mercier, Didier Marcel, Michel Blazy, Laurent Grasso, Véronique Joumard, Vincent Beaurin, Delphine Coindet, Guillaume Leblon, Gyan Panchal, Vincent Lamouroux, Karina Bisch, Dove Allouche, Stéphane Calais, Laurent Montaron, Katinka Bock, Gyan Panchal, entre autres.