Secret Cinema presents Wojtek Doroszuk.

Date : Tuesday, November 4, 2014 at 7pm - free admission by reservation

Theme : screenings of artists' films.

Screenings in the presence of the artist Wojtek Doroszuk on Tuesday 4th November at 7 pm at No.5 boulevard Malesherbes, Paris 8ème (near the Fondation d’Entreprise Ricard) – admission fee by reservation (cf: Practical informations at right on the page).

Secret Cinema is interested in rare and unusual film works, produced outside known commercial circuits. Usually contextual, these works, whose subjects and aesthetic stem from particular positions in the arena of art, society and politics, are presented here by their author in the private setting of a tiny cinema hidden in the basement at no.5 boulevard Malesherbes. Secret Cinema sessions, which are unique, obscure and exciting, propose a vision on the sidelines of the youngest and most innovative international art scene.

For this first Secret Cinema session, it seemed to us judicious to show Dissection Theater. This film, made in 2006 and several times censored, immediately introduces Wojtek Doroszuk’s approach. Shot in the basement of a hospital in Krakow, its subject is the preparation of a body. Nothing obscene here, except that the lifeless body is dressed away from prying eyes and that here film is also used to transcribe a social, cultural and taboo process. What is involved for Wojtek Doroszuk is descending into the physical and geographical bases of culture. Osad (Sediment), his last film, also deals with this issue. Filmed in Poznan, in Poland, in the premises of the Arsenal, the city’s municipal art centre, it visually and materially explores the wings of the culture factory. In the film, this latter appears abandoned and uninhabited. On the contrary, it is radically incorporated in a film such as Prince. In it, Elohim “Prince” Ntsiete, dressed like Michael Jackson, walks through the streets of Brazzaville. In so doing, through his dancing and his clothes, he typifies a particular subcultural geographical and aesthetic position, a popular practice which the film here attests to. This practice of well-dressed young African men is incidentally the subject of a work, still at the editing stage, which will be specifically screened for a special “working copy” presented by Wojtek Doroszuk.

Wotjek Doroszuk was born in 1980 in Poland. He is a graduate of the Krakow Academy of Fine Arts and currently lives in France and Poland.

Photo Gallery - Slideshow

Secret Cinema

Practical information

Secret Cinema présente Wojtek Doroszuk.

Date : mardi 4 novembre 2014 à 19h - entrée libre sur réservation

Thème : Projections de films d'artistes

Projections en présence de l’artiste le mardi 4 novembre à 19h au 5 boulevard Malesherbes, Paris 8ème (à proximité de la Fondation d’entreprise Ricard) * – entrée libre sur réservation (voir Infos pratiques à droite de la page).

Secret Cinema s’intéresse à des œuvres filmiques rares et inhabituelles, produites hors des circuits commerciaux connus. Le plus souvent contextuelles, ces œuvres dont les sujets comme l’esthétique relèvent de positions singulières dans le champ de l’art, du social et du politique, sont présentées ici par leurs auteurs dans le cadre intimiste d’un cinéma de poche caché dans les sous-sols du 5 boulevard Malesherbes. Uniques, obscures, excitantes, les séances de Secret Cinema proposent une vision à la marge de la scène artistique internationale la plus jeune et la plus innovante.

 Pour cette première séance de Secret Cinema, il nous a semblé judicieux de montrer Dissection Theater. Le film, daté de 2006, censuré à plusieurs reprises, installe d’emblée la démarche de Wojtek Doroszuk. Tourné dans les sous-sols d’un l’hôpital de Cracovie, il a pour sujet la préparation d’un corps. Ici, rien d’obscène, sauf que le corps sans vie, est habillé à l’abri des regards et qu’ici le cinéma sert aussi à retranscrire un processus social, culturel et tabou. Pour Wojtek Doroszuk, il s’agit de descendre dans les fondements physiques et géographiques de la culture. Osad (Sediment) son dernier film travaille aussi cette question. Tourné à Poznań, en Pologne, dans les régies de l’Arsenal, le centre d’art municipal de la ville, il explore visuellement et matériellement les coulisses de la fabrique de la culture. Celle-ci y apparait abandonnée, inhabitée. Au contraire, elle est radicalement incorporée dans un film tel que Prince. Elohim "Prince" Ntsiete, habillé en Michael Jackson, y traverse les rues de Brazzaville. Il caractérise de la sorte, par sa danse et ses vêtements, une position géographique et esthétique singulière, sous-culturelle, une pratique populaire dont le cinéma rend ici témoignage. Cette pratique des Sapeurs est d’ailleurs le sujet d’une œuvre, encore en cours de montage, qui fera l’objet d’une présentation particulière pour un spécial « copie de travail » présenté par Wojtek Doroszuk.

Wojtek Doroszuk est né en 1980 en Pologne. Il est diplômé de l’académie des Beaux-arts de Cracovie et vit actuellement entre la France et la Pologne.

Galerie photo de l'évènement - Diaporama

Secret Cinéma

Informations pratiques