Sophie Bueno-Boutellier, «La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines»

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier, «La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines»

From Monday, May 23, 2016 to Saturday, July 2, 2016.

Curated by Dorothée Dupuis.

Artist: Sophie Bueno-Boutellier

 

Exhibition's Photo Gallery - Slideshow

La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines, exhibition view. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Bois debout, 2016. Courtesy Freymond-Guth Gallery. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines, exhibition view. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines, exhibition view. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines, exhibition view. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Cook, 2016. Courtesy The approach Gallery. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines, exhibition view. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines, exhibition view. Photography : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard

A series of gestures

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier is a painter and sculptor. Her installations combine ready-made objects with elements made from humble materials readily available in DIY shops. Her preferred medium is plaster, for its ease of use and its ability to create an instant, accurate reproduction of any shape and to soak up pigments. The shapes she creates are often cylinders and parallelepipeds of varying size and thickness, juxtaposed with casts of ordinary objects. She also uses plywood panels which she sometimes "dresses up" as other materials, such as fake marble and stone, using simple decorating techniques. She uses the same medium to build platforms to display elements together for her installations. These platforms of varying heights can be placed abutting a wall or free-standing, and are sometimes given a hint of neutral colour.

Her ready-mades are either purchases such as rolls of kitchen towel and electric cables, or found objects such as ceramic waste. For the present exhibition, she placed a special order for objects – in this instance, weavings based on drawings depicting swirls in liquids when they are stirred – from Alberto Ruiz, a craft weaver from Teotitlán del Valle, Oaxaca, renowned for the quality of his textile work.

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier also creates object-paintings by folding canvases prepared with gesso. Most of these paintings are of a size that reflects the fact that they are produced by hand, dependent on the artist's body and physical abilities. In the exhibition, they take on twin roles, as elements of the installation and as quasi-transitional objects between the sculptures and the weavings, which are also paintings in their own way.

The way the various elements are staged in the gallery reflects the implementation of a series of intuitions and tests carried out in a studio setting to establish the place of each object within an overarching plan that is subject to development, explaining the artist's initial intentions as regards the planned exhibition. Each installation is created based on a clear starting idea that constantly challenges artistic practice by reproducing, hijacking, and complexifying motifs and gestures in an ongoing cycle of construction, deconstruction, and reconstruction.

A practice in which the personal is context rather than subject

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier follows in the footsteps of women artists whose work is formalist in approach, who are determined not to give their male counterparts a monopoly on the universality of discourse, and who are well aware of the reductionism inherent in claims to identity. Her work should thus be read in the light of female sculptors and artists who openly profess their calling such as Louise Bourgeois, Eva Hesse, and Lynda Benglis, or whose work is systematically minimalist such as Vera Molnar and Fernanda Gomes, assemblagist such as Isa Genzken, appropriationist such as Sherrie Levine, or conceptual such as Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster and Tatiana Trouvé – who, like Bueno-Boutellier herself, is a graduate of the Villa Arson.

All these women artists are determined to plant their flag firmly in the field of post-minimalist practice, their only distinct style being that they are the direct result of modernity – and unashamedly so, fully aware as they are of the issues of production and reproduction at stake in shaping and influencing their creative processes.

Memory, affect, and sensuality are subjects close to Sophie Bueno-Boutellier's heart: they can be read as intuitive, polysemic elements in her work without necessarily being reduced to the expression of womanhood – and if they are, it is to serve as reminders that womanhood is by no means a fundamental characteristic but rather an interplay of constructed connotations, albeit ones suffused with symbolic implications that play into the individual viewer's aesthetic experience by calling on an entire cultural and vernacular background whose limits are clear to the artist, who nonetheless strives to reach beyond them

Clearing up certain misconceptions

The Refrain of the Kitchen People (1) is an essay in the visual arts that posits the gesture and the body as fundamental units of measurement in our perception of time and space and the construction of our relationship with our social, affective, and productive surroundings. Starting from the kitchen, understood as a defined domestic space with its own consecrated social and productive uses, Sophie Bueno-Boutellier creates a setting in which objects function as much as autonomous artistic creations as archetypes incorporated into a broader cultural fiction to have emerged from the artist's imagination. The biographical component – the way she transfers productive gestures from the studio to the kitchen as she takes on her reproductive role as woman and mother – is here simply a clue intended to hint at the concrete origins of the decisions taken by the artist to shape the work during the production process. The partition/window that stands between open/closed and occupied/empty spaces as if in reference to women's separate spaces, the works that move from the floor to the walls and onto plinths with a sort of Mediterranean nonchalance, the weavings produced by a man in a far distant country, the utensils for chopping, flattening, absorbing, holding, and sharing, are all concrete translations of age-old social and formal divisions, played out here in the medium of sculpture and installation.

At a key moment in our period in history when a crisis of humanism (2) is forcing our civilisations to define a new shared vision of the human being and the individual, Sophie Bueno-Boutellier's art sheds opportune light on both the evolution ad the atavism of our relationship with our daily symbolic and gendered rituals. It posits the cultural not as a series of oppositions, but as the potential for an organic, intersectional relationship with our surroundings.

Dorothée Dupuis, May 2016.

1 : “The kitchen people” is a paraphrase from the title of an article by Luce Giard in volume two of L'Invention du quotidien [The Practice of Everyday Life], coedited with Michel de Certeau. Paris: Gallimard, 1980.

2 : Rosi Braidotti, The Posthuman, Polity Press, Cambridge, 2013, introduction.

They talk about it...


"Sophie Bueno-Boutellier à la Fondation Ricard : le minimalisme, l’engagement et le geste" by Agathe Lautréamont for Exponaute : Read here

"Le Top 5 des expositions de la semaine" by Les Inrocks : Read here

Interview of Dorothée Dupuis
, curator of the exhibition, by Anne-Frédéric Fer for FranceFineArt (interview in french)

“Mouvements perpétuels”, interview of Sophie Bueno-Boutellier for L’Officiel Art n°18 june-july 2016

“Sophie Bueno-Boutellier” by Claire Moulène for Artforum

In english : "Sophie Bueno-Boutellier at Fondation d’entreprise Ricard" for Art Viewer : Read here

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier, «La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines»

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier, «La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines»

Vernissage lundi 23 mai à partir de 18h30

Du lundi 23 mai 2016 au samedi 2 juillet 2016

Une proposition de Dorothée Dupuis.

Artiste : Sophie Bueno-Boutellier

 

Galerie photo de l'exposition - Diaporama

Vue de l'exposition La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Bois debout, 2016. Courtesy galerie Freymond-Guth. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Vue de l'exposition La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Vue de l'exposition La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Vue de l'exposition La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Cook, 2016. Courtesy The approach Gallery. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Vue de l'exposition La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard
Vue de l'exposition La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines. Photographie : Aurélien Mole / Fondation d'entreprise Ricard

Une série de gestes

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier est peintre et sculptrice. Ses installations combinent des objets ready-made à des éléments fabriqués à partir de matériaux modestes, accessibles dans les magasins de bricolage. Elle utilise de préférence le plâtre pour sa facilité d’utilisation, sa capacité à reproduire avec précision et immédiateté n’importe quelle forme, et à se colorer dans la masse. Les formes réalisées sont souvent des cylindres, des parallélépipèdes d’épaisseur et de dimensions variables, associées à des moulages d’objets simples. Elle se sert également du bois contreplaqué en panneau et le déguise parfois en autres matériaux à l’aide de techniques simples de décoration (faux marbre, pierre). Elle s’en sert aussi pour construire des plateformes de présentation des éléments ensemble, pour ses installations. Les plateformes peuvent être calées contre le mur ou flottantes, plus ou moins surélevées, parfois légèrement colorées de tons neutres.

Les objets ready-made sont soit achetés dans le commerce (rouleau d’essuie-tout, câbles électriques,…), soit des matériaux trouvés (des rebuts de production céramique par exemple). Pour cette exposition, l’artiste a commandé la réalisation des objets (ici, des tapisseries faites d’après une série de dessins représentant les volutes d’un liquide remué) à Alberto Ruiz, un artisan tisserand de Teotitlán del Valle (Oaxaca), connu pour la qualité de ses réalisations textiles.

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier réalise aussi des peintures-objets qui sont confectionnées grâce au pliage d’une toile enduite de gesso. Ces peintures ont le plus souvent une taille qui rappelle leur processus de fabrication manuel, lié aux dimensions du corps de l’artiste et à ses capacités physiques. Dans l’exposition, elles fonctionnent autant comme des éléments de l’installation que comme des sortes d’objets transitionnels entre les sculptures et les tapisseries qui sont, d’un certain côté, aussi des peintures.

La mise en scène de ces différents éléments dans la galerie obéit à la mise en œuvre d’une suite d’intuitions et de tests réalisés dans le studio, destinés à déterminer la place des objets au sein d’un schéma de travail évolutif explicitant les orientations initiales de l’artiste quant à son projet d’exposition. Chaque installation est en effet réalisée à partir d’une idée de départ précise, qui remet chaque fois en jeu la pratique en reproduisant, détournant et complexifiant les motifs et les gestes, dans un cycle incessant de construction, déconstruction et reconstruction.

Une pratique où le personnel est un contexte, pas un sujet

Sophie Bueno-Boutellier s’inscrit dans la lignée d’artistes femmes aux pratiques formalistes, soucieuses de ne pas laisser aux hommes le monopole de l’universalité du discours, et conscientes des réductionnismes liés à la revendication identitaire.

Bueno-Boutellier est à placer dans la lignée de sculptrices et de peintres assumées comme Louise Bourgeois, Eva Hesse ou Lynda Benglis, d’artistes au minimalisme systématique comme Vera Molnar ou Fernanda Gomes, d’assemblagistes comme Isa Genzken, d’appropriationistes comme Sherrie Levine, d’artistes conceptuelles comme Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster ou Tatiana Trouvé – cette dernière étant d’ailleurs diplômée comme Bueno-Boutellier de la Villa Arson. Des artistes femmes décidées à s’inscrire en toute lucidité dans le champ des pratiques post-minimales, sans autre style distinct que celui d’être directement issues de la modernité, impénitentes car conscientes des enjeux de production/reproduction qui conditionnent et influencent leur processus créatif.

La mémoire, l’affect, la sensualité sont des sujets chers à Sophie Bueno-Boutellier, et peuvent donc se lire de façon intuitive et polysémique dans son œuvre, sans être forcément réduits à l’expression d’un féminin. Et s’ils le sont, c’est pour rappeler que le féminin n’est pas une caractéristique essentielle, mais plutôt un jeu de connotations construites, bien que chargées d’implications symboliques qui participent de l’expérience esthétique de chacun en faisant appel à tout un bagage culturel et vernaculaire dont l’artiste connaît les limites tout en cherchant à les dépasser.

Certains malentendus dissipés

La Ritournelle du Peuple des Cuisines (1) est un essai plastique qui pose le geste et le corps comme des unités de mesures primordiales de notre perception du temps et de l’espace, ainsi que de la construction de notre rapport à notre environnement social, affectif et productif. En partant de l’espace domestique défini aux usages social et productif consacrés qu’est la cuisine, Sophie Bueno-Boutellier construit un environnement où les objets fonctionnent autant comme des productions plastiques autonomes que des archétypes s’incluant dans une fiction culturelle plus large imaginée par l’artiste. Le biographique – le fait pour l’artiste de transférer les gestes productifs du studio à la cuisine, le temps d’assumer son rôle reproductif, celui de femme et de mère – n’est ici qu’un indice destiné à évoquer l’origine concrète de décisions plastiques réalisées par l’artiste lors de la production des œuvres. La paroi/fenêtre qui délimite des espaces ouverts/fermés, occupés/inhabités comme une évocation de gynécées et d’espaces séparés, les œuvres qui passent du sol, aux murs, au socle dans une sorte de nonchalance méditerranéenne, les tapisseries réalisées par un homme dans un pays étranger, les ustensiles pour découper, aplatir, absorber, poser, partager… sont la traduction de répartitions sociales et formelles très anciennes qui sont ici rejouées à travers la sculpture et l’installation.

Dans ce moment important de notre époque où la crise de l’humanisme (2) oblige nos civilisations à redéfinir une vision commune de l’être humain et de l’individu, la pratique de Bueno-Boutellier révèle de façon opportune l’évolution autant que l’atavisme de nos relations à nos rituels quotidiens, symboliques et genrés genres. Elle pose le culturel non comme une suite d’oppositions, mais comme la possibilité d’une relation organique et intersectionelle à notre environnement.

Dorothée Dupuis, mai 2016.

1 : « Le peuple des cuisines » paraphrase le titre d’un article de Luce Giard dans le second tome de son fameux ouvrage L’’Invention du quotidien, coédité avec Michel de Certeau, Gallimard, Paris, 1980.

2 : Rosi Braidotti, The Posthuman, Polity Press, Cambridge, 2013, introduction.

Ils en parlent…

"Sophie Bueno-Boutellier à la Fondation Ricard : le minimalisme, l’engagement et le geste" par Agathe Lautréamont pour Exponaute : A lire ici

"Le Top 5 des expositions de la semaine" par Les Inrocks : A lire ici

Interview de Dorothée Dupuis, commissaire de l'exposition, par Anne-Frédéric Fer pour FranceFineArt

“Mouvements perpétuels”, interview de Sophie Bueno-Boutellier pour L’Officiel Art n°18 juin-juillet 2016

“Sophie Bueno-Boutellier” par Claire Moulène pour Artforum

En anglais : "Sophie Bueno-Boutellier at Fondation d’entreprise Ricard" pour Art Viewer : A lire ici