Rien ne nous appartient : Offrir

Rien ne nous appartient : Offrir

From Tuesday, March 28, 2017 to Saturday, May 6, 2017.

Curated by Flora Katz.

With : Eva Barto, Hélène Bertin, Morgan Courtois, Tristan Garcia & Agnès Gayraud, Rochelle Goldberg, Pierre Huyghe, K.r.m Mooney, Pierre Paulin



Nothing belongs to us: Offer begins with a feeling. Torn between the observation of a reality which is asking to be enlightened, and the desire that a work should always have a darker side. At twilight, the partly lit bodies escape meaning and draw us in. They are calling out to be understood, but equally their approach is uncertain and there’s no promise of an ending played out in advance. Along this path can be found the possibility of voids, or events.

Nothing belongs to us: Offer aims to continue with this uncertainty. Contrary to a direct light that claims to block the unsettling effects of indistinct bodies, the project wants to go along with it. The environment, production conditions, those that watch it, will be played with the work like a moving ensemble where elements experience each other. Like a spy that takes advantage of a situation, the elements, human or not, that enter the ensemble can take part in it, seize some of the parts, and leave.

Nothing belongs to us: Offer is the fruit of a residency. Searching for a zone of uncertainty, the participants have been brought together beforehand. The place and conditions of the exchange reflected the intention; a utopia, almost. In intimate times, the missing share of reverie and idleness in the exhibition’s recent history raises questions. Treating different mediums, coming from different regions of France or from the other side of the Atlantic, each person has moved away from his central point, then, step by step, has played out his ideas in other conditions. This way of working with the vicinity, overlaps and crossing points has led to a joint decision for the project and has been a driving force for individual works.

Since nothing belongs to us, we will never stop wanting to offer.

Rien ne nous appartient : Offrir

Rien ne nous appartient : Offrir

Du mardi 28 mars 2017 au samedi 6 mai 2017

Vernissage le lundi 27 mars 2017Ajouter à mon calendrier

Une proposition de Flora Katz.

Artistes : Eva Barto, Hélène Bertin, Morgan Courtois, Tristan Garcia & Agnès Gayraud, Rochelle Goldberg, Pierre Huyghe, K.r.m. Mooney et Pierre Paulin

 


Rien ne nous appartient : Offrir commence par un sentiment. Un tiraillement entre le constat d’une réalité qui demande qu’on l’éclaire, et le désir qu’une œuvre garde toujours une part de pénombre. Dans la pénombre, les corps à demi-éclairés échappent au sens, et attirent. Ils appellent à être compris, mais en même temps leur approche est incertaine et ne promet aucune fin jouée d’avance. Sur ce chemin se trouve la possibilité de vides, et d’événements.

Rien ne nous appartient : Offrir tente d’aller avec cette incertitude. A rebours d’un éclairage direct qui prétendrait faire barrage aux effets déstabilisants de corps indistincts, le projet souhaite s’y ouvrir. L’environnement, les conditions de production, ceux qui la regardent, seront joués avec l’œuvre comme un ensemble mouvant où les éléments s’éprouvent les uns les autres. Tel un espion qui profite d’une situation, les éléments – humains ou non – qui entrent dans l’ensemble peuvent y prendre part, s’emparer de quelques parties, et sortir.

Rien ne nous appartient : Offrir est le fruit d’une résidence. En quête d’une zone d’incertitude, les participants ont été réunis au préalable. Le lieu et les modalités de l’échange étaient à l’image de l’intention ; une utopie, presque. Au milieu de temps intimes, la part manquante de la rêverie et de l’oisiveté dans l’histoire récente de l’exposition, posait question. Traitant différents médiums, venant de différentes régions de France ou de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique, chacun s’est déplacé de son centre, puis, de proche en proche, a joué ses idées sous d’autres conditions. Ce fonctionnement par voisinage, superposition et points de croisements a mené à une décision commune pour le projet et impulsé des œuvres individuelles.

Puisque rien ne nous appartient, nous ne cesserons pas de désirer offrir


Ils en parlent...

  • "Les 5 expos à ne pas rater cette semaine" par Ingrid Luquet-Gad dans Les Inrocks.