Poésie prolétaire

Poésie prolétaire

From Tuesday, January 15, 2019 to Saturday, February 23, 2019.

Opening on Monday, January 14, 2019Add to my calendar

With Carlotta Bailly-Borg, Thérèse Bonnelalbay, Anne Bourse, Joëlle de La Casinière, Mélanie Matranga, Lizzy Mercier Descloux

Curated by François Piron

This exhibition borrows its title and some of its mood from the magazine Poézi Prolétèr, created in Paris by poets Katalin Molnar and Christophe Tarkos and artist Pascal Doury in the late 1990s. The magazine combined poetry and drawing, but without signing up to the categories of concrete or graphic poetry. It was more a place of unexpected encounters, following in the footsteps of other publications of the 1980s and 1990s – often homemade, precarious and marginal – in which the line was blurred between language, image, graph and sign.

Three thirtysomething artists – Carlotta Bailly-Borg, Anne Bourse and Mélanie Matranga – mix and tangle their works with those of three other artists who, for a wide variety of reasons, did not want to be fully part of the “art world”. Thérèse Bonnelalbay, who was close to a literary circle in the 1960s and 1970s, continued her profession as a nurse while drawing every day, and when she met Jean Dubuffet, this oriented the reception of her work towards Art Brut; Joëlle de la Casinière, a longtime nomad, developed light forms of writing and drawing adapted to her existence, and preferred the collective creativity of the Montfaucon Research Center to the idea of an individual “career”; and finally Lizzy Mercier Descloux – after founding the magazine Rock News with her partner Michel Esteban and opening the shop Harry Cover, selling records and second-hand clothing in Les Halles – continued her music career on New York’s No Wave scene, then in Africa in the 1980s: her poems and drawings are being shown in Paris for the first time.

This exhibition is a chance to weave several threads of ongoing research on invented genealogies between artists of various generations; a chance to establish comparisons and fortuitous conversations that go beyond the conventional boundaries of the artist’s position today, moving it towards the broader, wilder field of countercultures.

Poésie prolétaire

Poésie prolétaire

Du mardi 15 janvier 2019 au samedi 23 février 2019

Vernissage le lundi 14 janvier 2019Ajouter à mon calendrier

Avec Carlotta Bailly-Borg, Thérèse Bonnelalbay, Anne Bourse, Joëlle de La Casinière, Mélanie Matranga, Lizzy Mercier Descloux

Une proposition de François Piron

Cette exposition emprunte son titre et en partie son humeur à la revue Poézi Prolétèr, créée par les poètes Katalin Molnar et Christophe Tarkos, et par l’artiste Pascal Doury à Paris à la fin des années 1990. Une revue au croisement de la poésie et du dessin, sans pour autant émarger aux catégories de la poésie concrète ou graphique. Plutôt un endroit de rencontre inattendu, qui fait suite à d’autres publications des années 1980 et 1990, souvent bricolées, précaires et périphériques, où la ligne se brouille entre langage, image, graphe et signe.

Trois artistes trentenaires – Carlotta Bailly-Borg, Anne Bourse et Mélanie Matranga – (em)mêlent leurs oeuvres à celles de trois autres artistes qui, pour des raisons très diverses, n’ont pas voulu faire intégralement partie du « monde de l’art ». Thérèse Bonnelalbay, proche d’un milieu littéraire dans les années 1960-70, a poursuivi son métier d’infirmière tout en dessinant quotidiennement, et sa rencontre avec Jean Dubuffet a orienté la réception de son travail du côté de l’art brut ; Joëlle de la Casinière, longtemps nomade, a développé des formes légères d’écriture et de dessin adaptées à son existence, et a préféré la création collective du Montfaucon Research Center à l’idée d’une « carrière » individuelle ; Lizzy Mercier Descloux, enfin, après avoir fondé avec son compagnon Michel Esteban le magazine Rock News et ouvert aux Halles le magasin de disques et de fripes Harry Cover, suivit son parcours de musicienne dans le New York de la No Wave puis en Afrique dans les années 1980 : ses poèmes et dessins sont montrés pour la première fois à Paris.

Cette exposition est une occasion de tresser plusieurs fils d’une recherche en cours sur des généalogies inventées entre des artistes de diverses générations ; une occasion de créer des rapprochements et des conversations fortuites qui dépassent les limites convenues de la position de l’artiste aujourd’hui, en la déplaçant vers le champ plus vaste et sauvage des contre-cultures.